My latest short story "The Night the Lights Came On"

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Changeling III Act Structure Breakdown

3 Act Structure Breakdown
Directed by Clint Eastwood
with Angelina Jolie, Gattlin Griffith, Michelle Gunn

A mother's prayer for her kidnapped son to return home is answered, though it doesn't take long for her to suspect the boy who comes back is not hers. *source:

Act I
  • We meet Protagonist and Secondary Character (Mother & Child), a loving mother and her son, life is good.
  • Mom's job calls her in, she can't keep promise to go to movies with son on Saturday, first conflict
  • Secondary character is missing, the Protagonist must find her son. This is the great conflict of the film which pushes us into act II, the Protagonist is now in a world without her son. (Plot Point # 1)
Act II
  • Protagonist tries to find boy with help of police by calling them, they don't help (1st false victory, falling action)
  • Protagonist continues search unsuccessfully, conflict becomes more intense (rising action
  • Police call mom, tell her they’ve found boy (false hope/culmination)
  • Mom finds out the boy police found is not her son (2nd false victory, falling action, midpoint)
  • She fights to find truth, policeman sends her to mental hospital
  • She is freed, because the truth is found that it’s not her boy (1st victory, rising action, Plot Point # 2)
  • Protagonist has new goal to get justice for what has happened to her and others put in mental hospital
  • Ladies are freed from mental hospital (2nd victory, rising action)
  • Policeman gets fired, court case won, murderer sentences to be hung (3rd victory)
  • Murderer promises to tell Mom he killed boy, so she can move on, but he doesn’t (all is lost)
  • Murderer is hung
  • Truth found, boy wasn’t murdered but got away, protagonist has hope her boy is still alive (denouement)

No comments:

Post a Comment