Listen to my latest short story "The Forest Trail"

 Download the .mp3

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

CTRL ALT Revolt! by Nick Cole | Book Review

It took me a while to get into this novel because there is so much going on but once I was into it I loved it until the end. The more I read, the happier I was that I had decided to read this book. For fans of Ready Player One and Solarversia you're in for a great ride. This book is geared towards geeks, lovers of tech, and video games.

I loved how well the author Nick Cole made me feel like I was with a character inside a video game. I also loved all the really cool futuristic technology in this book. Tons of cool ideas that were fun to read about. 

The ending was very satisfying. The more of this book I read the more I enjoyed it. 

Get the book on Amazon:
(Affiliate Link) CTRL ALT Revolt!

Friday, February 5, 2016

Dan Dan The Art Man's Book Reviews | Episode 38
The Coffee Legacy by Katharina Bordet


Download the .mp3


In this 38th episode I review The Coffee Legacy by Katharina Bordet. I loved this book. It has awesome fantasy elements in a modern setting. That modern setting is also in traditional Viennese cafe culture, so for a coffee lover I was totally in from page one. Listen to hear why I gave this great book with rich characters 5/5 stars.

Buy the Book on Amazon (Affiliate Link):
The Coffee Legacy (A Wiener Blut Novel)

Visit the Author's Website:
http://www.maimer.net/

Music Attribution:
Music by Kevin MacLeod at http://www.incompetech.com
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Visit my website: www.DanDanTheArtMan.com

Support the show AND get a free audiobook!
http://www.audibletrial.com/DansBookReviews

Audiobook Pick-of-the-Week: 

Strikers (Affiliate Link)
Written by Ann Christy
Narrated by Teri Schnaubelt

This episode of Dan Dan The Art Man's Book Reviews has been brought to you by Audible.

Visit www.AudiblePodcast.com/DansBookReviews for a free trial membership.


Audible Free Trial Details


Get an audiobook of your choice, free, with a 30-day trial. After the trial, your paid membership will begin at $14.95 per month. With your membership, you will receive one credit every month, good for any audiobook on Audible.

Cancel anytime, effective the next monthly billing cycle. Cancel before your trial ends and you will not be charged. Check out the full terms and policies that apply to Audible membership.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Wrong Side of Hell by Sonya Bateman | Book Review

This was a really fun book. A man who makes a living transporting dead bodies, who sometimes seem to talk to him, discovers there is a whole other world filled with dark magical creatures. He also discovers that he is part of their world as much as he'd like to remain just a lonely body mover who lives in his van. This book was an amazing page turner. I was hooked from page one and was not disappointed until I finished the last chapter. Oh man was this book awesome.


I loved the main character. His attitude when facing off against the supernatural creatures in the book was surprising and awesome. He was often understandably scared of them but would also sometimes get angry at them and give it right back to them after they kept threatening him simply because he was a human.

The story world of this book is really cool. It's modern day but all of the dark creatures of myths and legends exist. Discovering this dark magic underground world with the main character was really cool. 

There were tons of awesome fight scenes in this book and they could get pretty gruesome. They were really exciting and the author always did a good job of having the good guys leave a fight with a lot of damage that many times really slowed them down or even took them out of commission for a while. Everything cost a lot in this book. Nothing was easy for the characters. I think that's one of the reasons the book was so good. It was a blast cheering for the characters as they fought a very dark evil.

I loved the way the magic worked in this book. It was amazing and could do incredible things, but it always took a lot out of the characters and once they used their magic a little bit it was all they had and their "spark" was spent until they recharged it. That part made the magic feel so much more real than if the characters would of had an unending supply of magic to wield. Then everything would have been easy for them and the way everything went down in the story would have been much less believable or the way they could have accomplished their goals would have been a lot more boring to read because it would have been so easy for them.

The author did a great job of making everything hard for the characters. They had to push themselves to their limits to achieve their goals. They had to get creative and think on their feet. They got beat up, really bad, lots of times. All these things and the wonder of all the cool magical world made for one thrilling read. I can't wait to see what these crazy characters are up to in the next book. I'm so glad I picked this one up.

Get the book at Amazon with my affiliate link:
Wrong Side of Hell (The DeathSpeaker Codex Book 1)

Monday, February 1, 2016

Gardening For Beginners by Dahlia Rose | Book Review

I had the pleasure of narrating the audiobook version of this book. It's clear prose made for an easy job. I learned a lot and for anyone looking to dip their toes into gardening, or should I say green their thumb, this is a great book. I loved the energy and positive fun attitude in the writing. You can tell the author has a love for gardening herself. Great enjoyable read packed with tons of great info to get you started in the world of gardening.

Friday, January 29, 2016

6 Goals Podcast - Episode 33

On another website I run a little podcast that's kind of for me. I don't even publish it to iTunes, but you can subscribe to it in your iTunes app. It's called 6 Goals and I just share how I've been doing on 6 Goals I set up for myself. Those 6 goals are:

  1. Six miles run
  2. Six short work outs
  3. Six thousand words written
  4. Six chapters of the bible read
  5. Six water bottles consumed a day
  6. Six sketches drawn in my sketch book
Below I've reposted the latest episode's blog post if you're curious have a listen. Thanks to Kevin MacLeod's music it's very calm and relaxing to listen to. Thanks for stopping by!




Download the .mp3

I went on a few runs. Two I've posted below, the one before that is in the last post. I recorded a podcast too! Wow has it been a long time since I've done that! I tried adding some more chill music instead of the hard rock in the background. I like it a lot more. Kind of new age and weird but I like it. Makes for an interesting sound.


Here's the stats:
2.0 miles in 20:11 minutes - 1/29/16 
2.0 miles in 24 minutes - 1/22/16

Attributions:
Music by Kevin MacLeod at www.incompetech.com

Cover to Sword and Urn I mentioned: